ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup regulations

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Regulations

Regulation Description
Participating Teams 10 teams qualify for the tournament
Host Country Host nation gets automatic qualification
Qualification Process Top teams from ICC Women’s Championship and Qualifier tournaments
Tournament Format Round-robin group stage followed by semifinals and final
Batting and Bowling Powerplays 3 Powerplays allowed, first 10 overs, batting and bowling
Fielding Restrictions First 10 overs, only 2 fielders were allowed outside the 30-yard circle
Review System Decision Review System (DRS) with limited unsuccessful reviews
Super Over Used to determine a winner in case of a tie
Player Eligibility Players must meet ICC nationality and eligibility criteria
Code of Conduct and Anti-Doping Players and officials must adhere to ICC’s Code of Conduct and WADA


The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup is a major international tournament that showcases the best women’s cricket teams from around the world. The regulations governing this prestigious event ensure fairness, competitiveness, and adherence to the highest standards of the game.

  1. Participating Teams: The Women’s Cricket World Cup features 10 teams that qualify for the tournament. These teams include the top cricketing nations from different regions of the world.
  2. Host Country: The host country of the Women’s World Cup automatically qualifies for the tournament. Hosting rights are awarded to a specific nation, providing them with direct entry into the competition.
  3. Qualification Process: Teams secure their spots through various qualifying events, primarily the ICC Women’s Championship and the Women’s World Cup Qualifier tournaments. The top teams from these events earn their place in the World Cup.
  4. Tournament Format: The Women’s Cricket World Cup follows a round-robin group stage, where all teams play against each other. After the group stage, the top four teams proceed to the semifinals, and the winners of the semifinals face off in the final to determine the champion.
  5. Batting and Bowling Powerplays: In the World Cup matches, teams can take three Powerplays. The batting Powerplay allows fielding restrictions for the first ten overs, while the bowling Powerplay enables the fielding side to have more attacking field placements.
  6. Fielding Restrictions: During the first ten overs of an innings, the fielding side is allowed to have only two fielders outside the 30-yard circle. This rule encourages aggressive cricket and promotes more exciting contests.
  7. Review System: The Decision Review System (DRS) is available in the Women’s World Cup, allowing teams to challenge on-field decisions. However, the number of unsuccessful reviews is limited to maintain the flow of the game.
  8. Super Over: In the event of a tie in a knockout match, a Super Over is used to determine the winner. Each team gets one over to bat and bowl, and the team with the highest score in the Super Over wins the match.
  9. Player Eligibility: Players must meet ICC nationality and eligibility criteria to represent a particular country in the World Cup. The ICC ensures that players are eligible and qualified to participate in the tournament.
  10. Code of Conduct and Anti-Doping: All players and officials must adhere to the ICC’s Code of Conduct, which outlines the expected behavior on and off the field. Additionally, the Women’s World Cup follows the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) regulations to maintain the integrity of the sport.

These regulations form the foundation of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, ensuring a competitive and thrilling tournament that celebrates the talent and skill of women cricketers from across the globe.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *