ICC Cricket World Cup qualification rules

ICC Cricket World Cup Qualification Rules

Table: ICC Cricket World Cup Qualification Rules (as of September 2021)

Qualifying Event Number of Teams Qualifying Teams
Full Member Nations 10 All Full Member Nations
ICC World Cricket League 6 Top 4 teams
ICC World Cup Qualifier 12 Top 2 teams
Host Country 1 Automatically qualifies
Total Teams 14


The ICC Cricket World Cup is the pinnacle event of One-Day International (ODI) cricket and takes place every four years. It brings together the best cricketing nations from around the globe to compete for the prestigious title. The qualification process for the World Cup is designed to ensure a fair representation of teams from various regions while maintaining a high standard of competition.

  1. Full Member Nations: There are 10 Full Member Nations of the International Cricket Council (ICC), which are the highest-ranked cricketing countries. These teams automatically qualify for the World Cup, and they are assured a spot in the tournament, regardless of their rankings.
  2. ICC World Cricket League (WCL): The ICC World Cricket League serves as a pathway for Associate Member Nations to qualify for the World Cup. In the WCL, Associate nations play against each other in a league format, with the top four teams at the end of the competition progressing to the next stage.
  3. ICC World Cup Qualifier: The ICC World Cup Qualifier is a tournament where teams from the ICC World Cricket League and Associate Member Nations compete for the remaining spots in the World Cup. It usually involves 12 teams, and after intense competition, the top two teams from this event secure their places in the World Cup.
  4. Host Country: The host country of the World Cup gets an automatic qualification slot. The ICC awards the hosting rights to a specific nation, and they do not need to go through the qualification process, ensuring that the event takes place in a particular location.

In total, 14 teams participate in the ICC Cricket World Cup. The qualification process aims to strike a balance between rewarding strong cricketing nations while providing opportunities for developing cricketing nations to showcase their talent on the world stage.

Please note that the qualification rules might be subject to change by the ICC for future World Cup events. The table and explanation above are based on the rules as of September 2021. It’s always essential to check for the latest updates and changes from the official ICC sources leading up to the next World Cup.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *