Tag: Women’s Cricketing Events

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup prize money

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Prize Money

Tournament Edition Total Prize Money (USD) Winner (USD) Runner-up (USD) Semifinalists (USD)
2017 $2,000,000 $660,000 $330,000 $165,000
2022 (Projected) $2,500,000 $800,000 $400,000 $200,000


The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup is a premier international cricket tournament, celebrating the finest talents in women’s cricket. Apart from the prestigious trophy, the event offers substantial financial rewards to the competing teams.

  1. 2017 Edition: In the 2017 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup held in England, the total prize money was $2,000,000. The champion team, England, received a prize of $660,000, while the runner-up, India, earned $330,000. The two semifinalists, South Africa and Australia, each received $165,000.
  2. 2022 Edition (Projected): For the upcoming 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, the projected prize money is expected to increase to $2,500,000. The winning team is anticipated to receive $800,000, while the runner-up will likely earn $400,000. The two semifinalists are expected to receive an increased sum of $200,000 each.

The prize money at the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup serves as a major incentive for teams to perform at their best and showcases the ICC’s commitment to promoting women’s cricket. It recognizes and rewards the outstanding efforts of the champion team, the runner-up, and the semifinalists, adding an extra layer of motivation and excitement to the tournament. As women’s cricket continues to grow and gain popularity, the prize money contributes to the elevation of the sport, encouraging more women to take up cricket and showcase their skills on the international stage. Please note that the prize money for future Women’s Cricket World Cup editions may vary, and it’s essential to refer to the official ICC sources for the latest updates and changes.